The Diamond Lab

Leviev's Diamond Buying Guide

Intro To Diamonds

Diamond is the hardest natural material on earth. Formed deep within the Earth over a billion years ago and propelled to the surface by powerful volcanic eruptions, diamonds symbolize a timeless saga of pressure, perseverance, and sheer brilliance.

In This Guide

As you delve into our comprehensive diamond buying guide, you'll uncover the mystique and meticulous methodology behind grading these precious stones, exploring the renowned 4 Cs: color, cut, clarity, and carat weight.

Allow us to illuminate your path in selecting a diamond that sparkles while telling a story of nature, of love, and of unmatched elegance.


Cutting a diamond isn’t just about shaping it, but unlocking its hidden sparkle, revealing three key visual effects: brilliance, fire, and scintillation.

Brilliance is all about brightness. It's the white light that bounces off the surface and inside of the diamond, giving it a lively glow.

Fire shows itself through colorful flashes within the diamond, spreading a mini rainbow every time light passes through it.

Scintillation is about the sparkles that flash as the diamond, light, or observer moves, adding a dynamic twinkle to its appearance.

Moreover, the skill of the diamond cutter plays a big role in its beauty. This includes how well the facets (the flat surfaces) are aligned and relate to each other, and how smoothly the diamond has been polished.

All these aspects work together to make sure your diamond shines brightly and beautifully.


Color is the natural color (or lack of color) visible within a diamond, based on the GIA scale. The closer a diamond is to "colorless," the rarer it is.

Colorless (D-F): These diamonds are highly prized for their rarity and brilliance. They appear icy white and are ideal for engagement rings and other fine jewelry pieces.

Near-Colorless (G-J): These diamonds exhibit minimal traces of color and are an excellent choice for a balance of quality and affordability.

Faint to Light (K-Z): Diamonds in this range may show more noticeable color, often appearing pale yellow or brown. They are generally less expensive but can still be attractive in certain jewelry styles.


Flawless (FL) and Internally Flawless (IF): These diamonds are exceptionally rare and have no visible imperfections.

Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1-VVS2): Inclusions are extremely difficult to detect, even under magnification.

Very Slightly Included (VS1-VS2): Minor inclusions are visible under 10x magnification but not to the naked eye.

Slightly Included (SI1-SI2): Inclusions are visible under 10x magnification, and SI2 may have some visible to the naked eye.

Included (I1-I3): These diamonds have noticeable inclusions and/or blemishes, impacting their overall appearance.


A carat is split into 100 points. So, one point is one-hundredth of a carat. You can think of carats like dollars and points like cents. For example, 1.34 carats is like one carat and 34 points, just as $1.34 is one dollar and 34 cents.

Bigger diamonds are not as common, making them more valuable. They're not just pricier but also have a higher cost per carat because of their rarity.


Diamond shape simply means the overall form and look of your diamond.

It's how the diamond appears to the eye and its physical form. Each diamond shape has special features that affect its shine and general appearance.

Often, shape is one of the first things people think about when choosing a diamond.

While round diamonds are a classic pick, many people love the unique style of non-round, or 'fancy-shaped', diamonds.

Finding Your Ring Size

Ring sizing is a standardized system used to determine the circumference or diameter of a person's finger in order to create a properly fitting ring. The most common ring size system in the United States uses whole and half sizes, ranging from size 3 to size 13.5.

Frequently Asked Questions About Diamonds

Get Inspired

@levievdiamonds Your love is celebrated through our passion for diamonds.